to Catastrophe ….Stupid is as Stupid does
Somehow the
events of the last several days after the Sandy disaster struck are more of a
disaster than the event itself. I will
kind of recap some events at the ‘Game’ bar starting with last Friday
night. I had caught up with Candy at
Bronkos where ‘G’ had a nice crowd and good spirited folks enjoying a relaxing
cocktail before heading home.
Candy and I
went to the ‘Game’ bar because it was Friday and she wanted to be around folks
she knew (or at least she thought she did) Krizz’ee was working and Reeta hung
around but the crowd was kind of nutty for a Friday Night. Bossman and his crew was in the house along
with the usual Friday night regulars.
There were a few ladies in the place that both guys and some girls
wanted to talk to.
There was an
edge to the night after Bossman left and the crowd became aggressive. Candy wanted to shoot a game of pool with me
but we ended up playing doubles with another set of folks because it was their
table. After most of the crowd got
polluted on drinks and whatever else they could get from their ‘friends’,
things got stupid.
DeeDee
wanted to shoot pool against Candy and got her wish when she scared off some
other folks who wandered in from the pool hall next door.
Candy insisted that she was breaking because DeeDee
racked, DeeDee said something to Candy in a rude tone to which Candy responded
by saying ‘bite me’. DeeDee then grabbed
Candy’s arm and bit it. What started out
as a pool game was quickly deteriorating.
I then got
the parties calm and the game went on but Candy was ready to go or kill
somebody. Candy won the pool game but
the night was young. Some of the young
folks visiting with some regulars started getting loud and nasty with each
other, while some regulars who drove in were ‘tore up from the floor up’ now
looking to drive, not just themselves –
but other folks home.
Candy looked
at me and said, “you’ve got to do something RJ.” To which my reply was “why me?”
Candy said, “you’ve
been drinking tonic water all night and you’re the only one sober and the only
one who is talking with any bit of sense.”
Candy then gave me a look that was really tense and raw.
I got the message and took a few folks home
but one young lady insisted that she drive home and she was not in good
shape. Candy made her drink club soda
for two hours and was mad at me when the young lady did drive home.
Candy angry
from the bruises and marks left by DeeDee’s bite was happy when DeeDee
left. Candy was still angry I let this lady
drive home but was relieved when she called the bar and let us know she got
home safe. Now the only problem left
was a drunken woman, ‘Jill’ who said something to Bossman’s Daughter, Zeena
(who practices martial arts and looks it) was only out to have a drink was now
ready to work out her work boots on Jill’s ass.
Candy made
it her mission to calm Zeena down and diffuse the situation. This gave Jill’s friends enough time to get
her out of site and on her way home.
Needless to say we ended up staying till closing time.
Candy was pissed about the bruises left by
being bitten by DeeDee and was stopped by the Police on the way home. She didn’t get a ticket but a stern
admonition.
Candy said, “Its gonna be
awhile before I come back, there’s a bad mojo in here (Game bar) and something’s
gonna manifest itself and it won’t be good.”
When Candy
left Hurricane Sandy was enroute to put more than a bad mojo on the whole of
Long Island and devastate the South Shore.
RJ




No comments:
Post a Comment
Thank you for your comment