Tuesday, July 28, 2009

InfraRed (IR) Violations: Are You a Victim?

The small, quiet, tranquil bar full of milfs and hot little ladies who come out in the twilight of the Sabbath is typical of SideStreet which is hidden in plain view in Cedarhurst. SideStreet is a peaceful place with an eclectic collection of patrons that make most evenings in the 70’s style establishment very pleasant.
All the bartenders are cute but no nonsense when it comes to being civil in their bar on their shift. So it is with Ruby.

Ruby’s man, Brick was in and bought a round for the crowd. The ladies wanted to dance but didn’t want some half drunk self seeking asshole playing rap or metal throwing on a Nine Inch Nails tune to intimate how bad he wants to get laid.
I was asked to see what I could do for mood music so I cued up the jukebox and had the ladies dancing as I took their requests and set them up for play. It was nice to see dancing going on.

It was a really good Friday Night, the Yankees were actually winning and the horses were running for those who were watching the tube. Then a guy I had seen their before, ‘Milt’ in his early 50’s balding with the typical middle aged spread, dressed for depressed and kind of creepy, came in sat down next to me holding a camera. I asked, “Ruby lets you take pictures in here? Do you show the folks you take pictures of the pics?

“Well, to both questions ‘no not really’” said Milt as he casually spied the bar, viewing the women dancing. I looked at the camera which was kind of large for a digital camera and asked Milt if I could look at it. At first he didn’t want to let me see it but after commenting on its size he gladly explained what he had. Milt said“this digital camera takes IR photography, actually all digital cameras can but have been dumbed down a bit. This camera has been modified to shoot high end IR photography.”

I knew the answer to my next question but I wanted to see what answer Milt would give me. “Why dumb down a digital camera that can use its IR capabilities Milt? Milt took a sip of his beer and said “because the camera companies like Canon and Nikon want to make you pay for every little thing.” That wasn’t the correct answer to the question.

Milt was concealing the real reason why he was in the bar sneaking pictures of the bar tenders bending over, leaning and or stretching over the bar with an infrared camera. First I’ll give the scientific explanation. A little known fact that the makers of longer wavelength IR vision systems used in surveillance often downplay is that cotton clothing is transparent to IR. Both Sony and Nikon initially introduced cameras that used IR powerful enough to see through cotton clothing, although not so well through polyester.

Second, since most of the bartenders wear nice light cotton blouses and bras along with jeans which are mostly 100% cotton, its no wonder why Milt was shooting picts with an infrared camera modified to shoot at higher ends of the IR spectrum. I know a bit about this because of having used night vision equipment while serving our countries glorious Corps of Marines. (Nothing like seeing naked local nationals through IR goggles)

Milt was shooting naked picts without the subjects permission. What bothers me about what Milt was doing was even if he was getting permission to take pictures the subject was being victimized without her even knowing it. Naked IR picts often end up on USENET groups or fetish sites on the internet. What was even more creepy to me was Milt was taking pictures of some guys in the bar too. If anyone knew what he was doing it would be the beginning of a serious ass kicking.

I knew it was time to leave right then. As Ruby walked me out I told her what Milt’s camera could do and what Milt was doing. As Ruby walked back into the bar I heard shouting. I quickly went around to the back door to see what was happening in the bar. Ruby’s eyes were on fire as she was in Milt’s face. As Ruby disclosed what he was doing the women gathered round Milt cursing, yelling and screaming.

Ruby told Milt he could only stay in the bar if she held the camera. Milt left quickly. I hung around to watch Milt leave, then I left. I have written about sexual deviates of many kinds that hide out in bars and scope their prey. This kind of violation is more dirty and insidious in that the violator can take your image circulate it on the internet, share it with other deviates or just print it and jack off on it in the comfort of his home.

There should be an etiquette or a rule about cameras in the bar. Some people who are in the bar with someone often don’t want their picture taken because the someone their in the bar with is not who they are married to. So bar owners should post a sign that says no photos in bar or no photos in bar without permission. It would be very awkward to say the least if an IR picture of a construction worker with his penis on display made it to YouTube or a free porn site.

More awkward for a woman who just wanted to hang out for a drink only to find that IR pictures of her naked frame are in her bosses possession. This kind of personal violation must fall under some kind of criminal violation of the penal code also. But its hard to prove unless the evidence shows up, even if the evidence shows up will the victim be able to handle the humiliation, degradation and embarrassment that goes with pursuing justice for herself/himself against their violator?

Since the criminal justice system is not a resort that bar patrons tend to trust my speculation is that if a deviate is found out, taking nude picts of someone’s wife, girlfriend or lover with an infrared camera, he would get bar justice. The camera would be in several pieces, some of which may find their way violating the violator. Bar justice is swift and vicious. To stop the carnage before it starts bar owners must be vigilant.

Bartenders, who are the most likely subject of photos in a bar by both regular horny guys and deviates alike, must be the most vigilant because they are generally the primary victims. If being a bar patron wasn’t complicated enough its even worse when the ‘odd’ people who have base or filthy motives ruin a good time by taking advantage of people. Its even worse when you’re a victim and don’t know it.

Ruby said she threw Milt out and thinks he won’t ever come back.
Good.
Be you a man or woman you have to ask who's watching your ass or worse who's taking photos and what kind.
RJ

Monday, July 27, 2009

Closing Down

Saturday Night I thought about going to Game On. Yaega was working due to a shortage of willing bartenders. The Game is slowly sliding into the status of desperate dive bar for the "wanna – be - badd". It will be remembered as a once cool place to hang out for a brew and music. But as we get closer to the closing day, the drama increases. That’s why I didn’t go anywhere Saturday Night, nursing wounds that have no scar.

I did go visit Game On Sunday Afternoon as I sometimes do. The place was notably different. A different vibe is now coming from this bar. Is it attitude, is it just plain dead or is it a stage for typical dive night bullshit. I had to ask due to the non-mobile recently trashed brand new Jap auto parked in back of the bar with a cinder block through the windshield and all the windows busted out of it (more damage upon closer look).

B. Slick is a patron of the bar who has played the games that wanna be players play. He tells prospect single women in the bar anything to pick them up. He involves himself in big drama with little minded people with even smaller reasoning capacity and talks big and tough like he’s mob connected (he aint). B. Slick owns the automobile that has been damaged nearly beyond recognition, a new home for rats behind Game On.

As I sat at the bar one or two old timers where sipping their libations and whispered about what happened the Saturday Night before. I looked at Yaega to ask, what happened? “Don’t ask me nothing, I don’t know” said Yaega as she prepared the bar for customers. I looked at one of the old timers who I bought a drink and asked, “what happened in the Game last night?”

“Mind you, this is just what I heard and it may or may not be true, in fact it all may be bullshit” said the Electrician. I asked “where you here”? The Electrician looked me in the eye and said, “yeah for a little while, but I left before the fireworks took place, like I said I only know what I heard.” I said OK, what happened.

“B. Slick was involved with two bitches one was a milf the other a teeny bopper cunt who aint 21 yet, both were in the bar with him. Apparently he had everything they needed to party and he was busy attempting to get both of ‘em drunk but Yaega refused to serve the teeny bopper. About that time a bill collector for the bossman came in to confront B. Slick about a $600 dollar phone bill he ran up on the bar phone.”

“Old Timer how the fuck B. Slick run up a bill like that on a bar phone” I asked. “Shut up and listen OK! 1-900-Fuck-You or some other sex line nonsense was one reason and overseas calls were the other reason. Anyway B. Slick started talking shit instead of negotiating and sold a bunch of Woof Cookies to this big bad black mandingo built mother fucker from the Bronx who was there to collect.” The Electrician took a long gulp of his mixed liquor and continued.


“If that wasn’t enough the teeny boppers Dad and big brother walk into the bar and catch her there while B. Slick is trying to front what he aint got, muscles and money in particular. So Mr. Proud and his son Knuckles jump in while Mandingo is trying to collect on the phone bill. Knuckles calls the milf an old whore, B. Slick is trying to hold three conversations at once and he realizes the shit is a little too deep, so he tells everybody to sit still he’s going to get his wallet which is out in his car.”

I said, I think I see where this is going, the Electrician held up his hand and said in his easy whisper “just listen”. “Just before he walks out the back door he orders a round for the bar and said I’ll be back. Mandingo goes out the front door. B. Slick is in his car and headed out of the driveway when somebody pulled in blocking his way. B. Slick backed up and let the car in and park. By that time Mandingo is at his door and told him to get out. By then Mr. Proud and Knuckles are out the back door.

Apparently Mr Slick got some help getting back into the bar to pay for the round he ordered. He didn’t have it all. Mandingo apparently figured he wasn’t collecting any money tonight either. The milf starts cursing at Knuckles, the teeny bopper starts shouting at Daddy, teeny bopper gets bitch slapped, B. Slick steps up like he’s going to do something and they all go out the back door.” The Electrician takes another long drink and continues.

Apparently B. Slick got his phone out to make a call, Knuckles grabs it and throws it on the roof of the office building next door. Mandingo and Knuckles held his arms across the hood of his car, his head facing the windshield face down, while Mr. Proud starts kicking him in the ass. Apparently someone finds a broom stick and he starts wailing away with that when someone mentioned a not nice way to put that thing into B. Slick’s butt, at least that’s what I heard.” I took a sip of beer and asked “what happened then.”

The Electrician said, “B. Slick fights out of his compromising position and attempts to run, but there is no way out of that driveway with cars in it so Mandingo and Knuckles wear their hands out punching him in the head. Don’t know what happened to the bitches, the booze or B. Slick except after they got finished with his ass they started on his car, I never knew doors could be pushed in, turned about and twisted like that.”

The Electrician finished up by saying, “ Apparently safety glass doesn’t shatter in or out but stays in one piece. After they busted every window and windshield including the sunroof, someone apparently put a cinderblock through the windshield.” I thanked the Electrician for the scoop though probably mostly bullshit. Yaega wouldn’t even address the subject and told me if I wanted to stay, don’t ask. So I didn’t.

So much for a Saturday Night at a bar that is closing down.
RJ

Propagandist Or Realist: Who Are You?

Yeah, its been a long time since anything has been posted due to a very different summer bar season. Several things have happened this year that has made things different than in years past and I will go down the short list in short order: 1) People have less money to hang out (pick a reason why) 2) Bars have cut back on entertainment during summer (pick any reason) 3) More bars are going under and closing (politics, finance, etc. pick one)

The whole of society seems to be falling into a vortex of ignorance and fear sparked by propagandists (Conservative Radio, FOX NEWS, Race baiting politicians, uncertainty about jobs, uncertainty about living the way you want and especially lack of opportunity).





We could blame the President, Congress, NeoCons from the last administration, Big Business, Agra-Business, Lobbyists and the Rich for what we now live like in the USA.

But as the late King of Pop, Music Icon and Entertainer Maximus, Michael Jackson once said, “lets start with the Man in the Mirror.” Most of us are under incredible stress, between having and keeping a job, raising kids, paying bills and praying to God no one gets hurt, sick or ends up in court. (No faster way to empty a savings account than to be involved with Doctors & Lawyers). So it is we who need to change our hearts and minds?

As Americans living in America we have always grown up believing and knowing we have the greatest nation, greatest life of any persons on the face of the planet. Our nation is first in technology, our nation is free, our nation rules and must rule the world (at least, thats what we were taught, that was the case 30 years ago).

Now as we let our government strip our freedoms one by one, as government lets the financiers rip us off, and put restrictions on our own industrial growth, we are the ones who are to blame. We won’t do anything…or is it we don’t know how?

To be a citizen of the United States one must exercise his or her citizenship. How? First steal a day out of your miserable existence to find out where your Congressman or Congresswoman’s Office is hidden. Create a list of immediate concerns that you have (i.e. jobs, health care, illegal immigration, legalized marijuana – whatever) and waddle your big ass to that once hidden place and introduce yourself. (It’s even better when you can get friends to join in)

We have depended too much on our elected officials to do what we elected them to do in the first place, that is Govern. They have been bought and paid for by a lot of special interests none of which gives a fuck about you, your job, your health or your kids. The reason that “we” don’t go down to the offices of our officials and make it plain that they work for “us” is fear, an air of intimidation resonates from those in power.

You and Me have to get past the feeling that we are just one or two citizens and not let the gatekeepers in the Government offices use politispeak or condescension to make us feel insignificant.







Do not let your Government demean or humiliate you. (You may already have lost your job, healthcare, kids, self-esteem, or reason to live) Take your concerns directly to where it is best handled, if it’s the State then to State officials. If the Federal Government, start with Congress and the Senate.

As long as we sit on our ass and listen to CNN, FOX, CNBC or any other outlet and believe what we hear, we are stupid. I have long ago chose to question all I hear and almost nothing I see and anything said by a politician. I have gone on my own little expeditions to find the truth.
That takes a little time. But if you choose to let Rush Limbaugh, Keith Olberman, Bill O’Reilly, Sean Hannity, Glenn Beck, Ed Shultz or even Lou Dobbs tell you what to think then you already have forfeit your citizenship.




In the words of the late Dr. Timothy Leary, “Think for yourself and always question authority.” You! Yeah You. You must take the initiative to find out “facts” and then act on them.

Today you may loose your house, tomorrow you may loose the ability to by a beer, tomorrow you could loose your freedoms, freedoms bought and paid for in blood. You must be responsible for you and those around you.

Politics, Government and propaganda are not something I lightly comment on in a blog about bars, nightlife and the pursuit of happiness. But the reason why we don’t hang out as much is because the whole premise of socialization, which only takes place when people “socialize” is threatened when a group of forces want to make you little more than a slave. If we can’t get together for a drink where are “we” the people, people of different races, religions and beliefs going to get together?

I don’t give a damn if you’re a rabidly bigoted conservative or a bleeding heart left leaning socialist liberal, unless we take back our country through personal involvement and personal commitment we will become another broken power, like ancient Rome, like the British Empire of the 17th, 18th and 19th Centuries “We, the People” will become a footnote hidden in the darkness of a doomed human history. American’s need to socialize with each other to share our America with each other.

The United States of America was founded by intellectuals, radicals, drunkards and profiteers who met in bars. The reason we have a United States is because the first armed fighting force organized for the United States existed before there was a United States…the United States Marine Corps was founded in a bar. The men recruited were from the bar. Not that we should talk politics in a bar, but we should talk to each other and confront our government.

Yes, go to Church to find God and salvation. Go to the bar to pursue God’s creations. Keep yourself from the insidious infections of hate and intransigence. Free yourselves from the divisive propagandists, the disciples of Joseph Goebbels[1] working at CNBC, FOX, Talk Radio, and even CNN.
Love your America.
Live it up.

RJ


[1] Paul Joseph Goebbels (29 October 1897 – 1 May 1945) was a German politician and Reich Minister of Propaganda in Nazi Germany from 1933 to 1945. He was one of German dictator Adolf Hitler's closest associates and most devout followers, eventually succeeding him as Chancellor of Germany, an office he held for only one day, carrying out one official act: sending a delegation to seek a ceasefire with the Russians. Goebbels was known for his zealous oratory and anti-Semitism. He was the chief architect of the Kristallnacht attack on the German Jews, which historians consider to be the commencement of the Nazi violence culminating in the Holocaust. From Wikipedia the free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Goebbels